Hadassah Statement On Never Again Education Act Securing Two-Thirds Majority Support In US Senate

Friday, Apr 24 2020

Josh Silberberg

April 24, 2020 — NEW YORK, NY - Hadassah, the Women’s Zionist Organization of America , Inc. (HWZOA) National President Rhoda Smolow and CEO/Executive Director Janice Weinman released the following joint statement today after confirming 15 new cosponsors to the Never Again Education Act (S. 2085) this week. The additions, which will be publicly recorded upon the full Senate returning to Washington, brings the total number of senators supporting the bill to 72.

Smolow and Weinman wrote to all US senators on Monday, on the eve of Yom HaShoah – Holocaust Remembrance Day – urging swift passage of the bill as a boost to US security, citing an alarming rise in new opportunities for hatred and violence amidst the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The Never Again Education Act passed the House overwhelmingly and in a bipartisan fashion and now has more than a two-thirds majority of co-sponsorship support in the Senate. The tremendous support is in recognition of both the growing threats to the Jewish community and of the value Holocaust education has in rolling back bigotry and hatred in our communities.

“This is our last best chance to make a significant and lasting impact against the rising tide of hatred in our country. Educators need our support, and it is imperative that the Senate pass the Never Again Education Act. It’s time for a vote. Hadassah members are eagerly anticipating a bill being sent to the president’s desk for his signature.”

The Never Again Education Act (H.R. 943) passed the House on January 27 by a vote of 393-5, establishing a new federal program and fund to award Holocaust education grants to educational institutions around the country offering classes, resources, teacher training, and field trips to all students.

Never Again Education Act (S. 2085) co-sponsors to date:

  • Sen. Rosen, Jacky (D-NV) * sponsor
  • Sen. Cramer, Kevin (R-ND) * original co-sponsor
  • Sen. Rubio, Marco (R-FL) * original co-sponsor
  • Sen. Blumenthal, Richard (D-CT) * original co-sponsor
  • Sen. McSally, Martha (R-AZ)
  • Sen. Wyden, Ron (D-OR)
  • Sen. Hassan, Margaret Wood (D-NH)
  • Sen. Boozman, John (R-AR)
  • Sen. Bennet, Michael F. (D-CO)
  • Sen. Daines, Steve (R-MT)
  • Sen. King, Angus S., Jr. (I-ME)
  • Sen. Roberts, Pat (R-KS)
  • Sen. Casey, Robert P., Jr. (D-PA)
  • Sen. Blackburn, Marsha (R-TN)
  • Sen. Baldwin, Tammy (D-WI)
  • Sen. Cornyn, John (R-TX)
  • Sen. Gillibrand, Kirsten E. (D-NY)
  • Sen. Feinstein, Dianne (D-CA)
  • Sen. Tester, Jon (D-MT)
  • Sen. Kaine, Tim (D-VA)
  • Sen. Booker, Cory A. (D-NJ)
  • Sen. Cortez Masto, Catherine (D-NV)
  • Sen. Portman, Rob (R-OH)
  • Sen. Van Hollen, Chris (D-MD)
  • Sen. Warner, Mark R. (D-VA)
  • Sen. Markey, Edward J. (D-MA)
  • Sen. Schatz, Brian (D-HI)
  • Sen. Shaheen, Jeanne (D-NH)
  • Sen. Duckworth, Tammy (D-IL)
  • Sen. Merkley, Jeff (D-OR)
  • Sen. Risch, James E. (R-ID)
  • Sen. Capito, Shelley Moore (R-WV)
  • Sen. Coons, Christopher A. (D-DE)
  • Sen. Hawley, Josh (R-MO)
  • Sen. Gardner, Cory (R-CO)
  • Sen. Schumer, Charles E. (D-NY)
  • Sen. Young, Todd (R-IN)
  • Sen. Tillis, Thom (R-NC)
  • Sen. Scott, Rick (R-FL)
  • Sen. Moran, Jerry (R-KS)
  • Sen. Collins, Susan M. (R-ME)
  • Sen. Stabenow, Debbie (D-MI)
  • Sen. Carper, Thomas R. (D-DE)
  • Sen. Hirono, Mazie K. (D-HI)
  • Sen. Brown, Sherrod (D-OH)
  • Sen. Klobuchar, Amy (D-MN)
  • Sen. Crapo, Mike (R-ID)
  • Sen. Murphy, Christopher (D-CT)
  • Sen. Smith, Tina (D-MN)
  • Sen. Warren, Elizabeth (D-MA)
  • Sen. Wicker, Roger F. (R-MS)
  • Sen. Manchin, Joe, III (D-WV)
  • Sen. Sanders, Bernard (I-VT)
  • Sen. Peters, Gary C. (D-MI)
  • Sen. Whitehouse, Sheldon (D-RI)
  • Sen. Sullivan, Dan (R-AK)
  • Sen. Durbin, Richard J. (D-IL)
  • Sen. Jones, Doug (D-AL)
  • Sen. Ernst, Joni (R-IA)
  • Sen. Harris, Kamala (D-CA)
  • Sen. Hoeven, John (R-ND)
  • Sen. Sinema, Kyrsten (D-AZ)
  • Sen. Menendez, Robert (D-NJ)
  • Sen. Cantwell, Maria (D-WA)
  • Sen. Blunt, Roy (R-MO)
  • Sen. Perdue, David (R-GA)
  • Sen. Heinrich, Martin (D-NM)
  • Sen. Udall, Tom (D-NM)
  • Sen. Leahy, Patrick J. (D-VM)
  • Sen. Cardin, Benjamin L. (D-MD)
  • Sen. Romney, Mitt (R-UT)
  • Sen. Graham, Lindsey (R-SC)

Hadassah, The Women’s Zionist Organization of America, Inc. (HWZOA) is the largest Jewish women’s organization in the United States. With 300,000 members, Associates and supporters Hadassah brings Jewish women together to effect change and advocate on critical issues such as medical care and research and women's empowerment. Through the Hadassah Medical Organization's two hospitals, the world-renowned trauma center and the leading research facility in Jerusalem, Hadassah supports the delivery of exemplary patient care to over a million people every year. HMO serves without regard to race, religion or nationality and earned a Nobel Peace Prize Nomination in 2005 for building “bridges to peace” through equality in medical treatment. For more information, visit my.hadassah.org.

Related Stories


Thursday, Jan 14 2021

Hadassah’s Impact in the 116th Congress

In a year of unprecedented challenges, Hadassah members made their voices heard in Washington and built an immense portfolio of bipartisan legislative victories that help to heal our world.


Wednesday, Jan 6 2021

Hadassah Statement On Violence At US Capitol

Hadassah, The Women's Zionist Organization of America, Inc. (HWZOA) National President Rhoda Smolow and CEO/Executive Director Janice Weinman released the following joint statement following the violent attack on the US Capitol earlier today.


Tuesday, Dec 15 2020

Hadassah supported Ohio Senate Commission Bill

Exemplifying the power of women who advocate, Hadassah National Board Member Carol Ann Schwartz submitted written testimony on behalf of Hadassah...


Thursday, Dec 10 2020

Antisemitism on Campus: Two Women’s Struggle to Protect Jewish Students Nationwide

Hadassah President Rhoda Smolow opens this phenomenal program hosted by Hadassah’s Attorneys and Judges Council and the Education and Advocacy Division in collaboration with the Combat Antisemitism Movement.


Donation Questions


(800) 928-0685

Membership Questions


(800) 664-5646

Israel Travel


(800) 237-1517

Contact Us

40 Wall Street

New York, NY 10005

More ›

Show More